Chateau de Meursault

^

History

 

After being ceded in the 11th century by Robert I, Duke of Burgundy and grandson of Hugues Capet, to one of his squires, the fief of the Moulin Foulot will change owners several times until the 18th century at the mercy of struggles between the Dukes of Burgundy and the Kingship ... After having spent one century of inheritance, the goods will be seized and sold during the revolution.

During the 19th century, the Serre family modified what was only a simple mill to give the building its current structure: building cellars, winery and magnificent cellars, dug by the monks of Cîteaux : the family will develop its wine business considerably, before a new period of decline.

In 1973, André Boisseaux bought the estate and took over its restoration, modernized production tools and developed wine tourism! Château de Meursault becomes one of the most beautiful properties in Burgundy.

Since 2012, the castle belongs to the Halley family, which continues to develop projects around the vineyard and climates ...

La vie de Chateau

Several events are held throughout the year in the reception rooms and cellars of the estate, including Bach à Bacchus festival concerts in July, and of course the famous Paulée de Meursault :

Established in 1923 by Mayor Jules Lafon, to restore the traditional meal of end of harvest, the Paulée de Meursault closing Three Glorious (on Monday noon), celebrated every third weekend of November, after the dinner of Clos Vougeot (Saturday evening) and the famous Hospices de Beaune Auction (Sunday):

Moment and place of festivities essential for the vine growers and the wine lovers, between 700 and 800 guests have the chance to taste the wines brought by the vine growers during a meal prepared by a great Chef, between songs and Burgundy banns. 

Since 1932, La Paulée de Meursault has also awarded a literary prize, awarded in 2018 to Irène Frain, writer, novelist, journalist and historian. She is a founding member of the Women's Forum for the Economy and Society.

^

 

The Climate of Burgondy

Understanding the origin of the Crus

This term comes from the Greek "klima", which means "inclination", "plot": everything is said. 

In Burgundy, this notion is essential to understand the different wines, the delimitation of parcels. Listed as World Heritage by UNESCO, the Climate of Burgondy makes the history of our wines, from lands whose geological characteristics are unique.

   

A climate of Burgundy is a vineyard plot delimited according to its unique geological characteristics. It defines the place of each vintage (Regional Appellation, Village, Premier Cru, Grand Cru) in the wine classification.

 

From Dijon to Santenay, we will find some famous names like, Clos de Vougeot, Montrachet, Chambertin, Romanée-ContiCorton, Musigny.

You can discover, in Beaune, the Maison des Climats, located Porte Marie de Bourgogne, next to the Tourist Office ...

 

The cultural heritage of Meursault

A must visit during your stay in Meursault, these sites tell the story of the village:

  • The Saint-Nicolas Church, listed as a historical monument, was rebuilt in the 15th century by the abbots of the Abbey of Cluny following a fire; its octagonal spire is over 50 meters long!

  • The town hall of Meursault, former castle dismantled in the 15th century, is surmounted by a typical roof Bouguignon glazed tile. Located near the demarcation line during the Second World War, Gérard Oury included this town hall in "La Grande Vadrouille", when these heroes, Bourvil and De Funès, tried to cross the line.

  • The former Leproserie, founded in the 12th century by Hugh II, Duke of Burgundy. In 1694, a royal edict brought the hospices of the countryside to hospitals in the cities, but it was not until 1754 that the Meursault Hospital was finally reunited at the Hôtel Dieu de Beaune. This district of the village still retains the name of "Hospital de Meursault".

M comme Meursault

2 rue Robert Leblanc - 21190 Meursault - FRANCE

489 568 477 RCS Dijon

  • Facebook Social Icône
  • Icône social Instagram

© 2017 M comme Meursault. Créé avec Wix.com

Le Chateau de Meursault

^

Histoire

 

Après avoir été cédé au 11ème siècle par Robert I, Duc de Bourgogne et petit-fils de Hugues Capet, à l’un de ses écuyers, le fief du Moulin Foulot changera de propriétaire plusieurs fois jusqu’au 18ème siècle au gré des luttes entre les Ducs de Bourgogne et la Royauté… Après avoir passé 1 siècle d’héritage en héritage, les biens seront saisis puis vendus pendant la révolution.

Au cours du 19ème siècle, la famille Serre modifient ce qui n’était qu’un simple moulin pour conférer au bâtiment sa structure actuelle : construction de chais, de cuverie et des magnifiques caves, creusées par les moines de Cîteaux : la famille développera considérablement son activité viticole, avant une nouvelle période de déclin.

En 1973, André Boisseaux rachète le domaine et reprend sa restauration, modernise les outils de production et développe l’œnotourisme !  Le Château de Meursault devient l’une des plus belles propriétés de Bourgogne.

Depuis 2012, le château appartient à la famille Halley, qui continue de développer des projets autour de la vigne et des climats…

La vie de Chateau

Plusieurs manifestations ont lieu tout au long de l’année dans les salles de réception et les caves du domaine, notamment des concerts du festival Bach à Bacchus en juillet, et bien évidement la célèbre Paulée de Meursault 

 

Instaurée en 1923 par le maire Jules Lafon, pour reprendre le traditionnel repas de fin de vendanges, la Paulée de Meursault clôture des Trois Glorieuses (lundi midi), fêtées tous les 3ème week-end de novembre, après le dîner du Clos Vougeot (samedi soir) et la vente aux enchères des Hospices de Beaune (dimanche).

 

Moment et lieu de festivités incontournable pour les vignerons et les amoureux du vin, entre 700 et 800 convives ont la chance de déguster les vins apportés par les vignerons au cours d’un repas préparé par un grand Chef, entre chants et bans bourguignons...

 

La Paulée de Meursault décerne également, depuis 1932, un prix littéraire, attribué en 2018 à Irène Frain, femme de lettres française, romancière, journaliste et historienne. Elle est membre fondateur du Women's Forum for the Economy and Society.

^

 

Les Climats de Bourgogne

Comprendre l'origine des Crus

Ce terme vient du grec "klima", qui signifie "inclinaison", "parcelle": tout est dit.

 

En Bourgogne, cette notion est primordiale pour comprendre les différents crus, la délimitation des parcelles. Classés au Patrimoine Mondial de l'UNESCO, les Climats de Bourgogne font l'histoire de nos vins, issus de terres dont les caractéristiques géologiques sont uniques.

Un Climat de Bourgogne est une parcelle de vigne délimitée selon ses caractéristiques géologiques singulières. Il définit la place de chaque cru (Appellation Régionale, Village, Premier Cru, Grand Cru) dans le classement des vins.

 

De Dijon jusqu'à Santenay, nous y retrouverons certains de célèbres appellations comme , Clos de Vougeot, Montrachet, Chambertin, Romanée-ContiCorton, Musigny.

Vous pouvez découvrir, à Beaune, la Maison des Climats, situé Porte Marie de Bourgogne, à côté de l'Office du Tourisme...

 

Le patrimoine culturel de Meursault

A visiter absolument pendant votre séjour à Meursault, ces sites racontent l'Histoire du village:

  • L'Eglise Saint-Nicolas, classé aux monuments historiques, fût reconstruite au 15ème siècle par les abbés de l'Abbaye de Cluny suite à un incendie; sa flèche octogonale mesure plus de 50 mètres! 

  • La mairie de Meursault, ancien château démantelé au 15ème siècle, est surmontée d'un toit typiquement Bouguignon en tuile vernissées. Situé près de la ligne de démarcation pendant la seconde guerre mondiale, Gérard Oury fait figurer cette mairie dans "La Grande Vadrouille", lorsque ces héros, Bourvil et De Funès, tente de passer la ligne 

  • L'ancienne Léproserie, fondée au 12ème siècle par Hugues II, Duc de Bourgogne . En 1694, un édit royal réunit les hospices des campagnes aux hôpitaux des villes, mais il faudra attendre 1754, pour que l'Hôpital de Meursault soit finalement réuni à l'Hôtel Dieu de Beaune. Ce quartier du village garde encore aujourd'hui le nom d'"Hôpital de Meursault".

M comme Meursault

2 rue Robert Leblanc - 21190 Meursault

489 568 477 RCS Dijon

  • Facebook Social Icône
  • Icône social Instagram

© 2017 M comme Meursault. Créé avec Wix.com